The following two statements were recently added to the Facebook Terms of Service. Does this bother anyone else?
You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the license granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content.
What does this mean? Anything you upload to Facebook can be used by Facebook in any way they deem fit, forever, no matter what you do later. Also:
The following sections will survive any termination of your use of the Facebook Service: Prohibited Conduct, User Content, Your Privacy Practices, Gift Credits, Ownership; Proprietary Rights, Licenses, Submissions, User Disputes; Complaints, Indemnity, General Disclaimers, Limitation on Liability, Termination and Changes to the Facebook Service, Arbitration, Governing Law; Venue and Jurisdiction and Other.
So, when you delete your account, a whole lot of data is retained… indefinitely. Wonderful.